Skip to content
English
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

Canceling vs. Closing Appointments and Group Classes

Read this article to understand the difference between 'canceling' a lesson and 'closing' a lesson

Appointments / Group Classes are marked as 'closed'  when the location at which the appointment / group class was scheduled to occur is going to be closed, e.g. holidays. Unlike cancellations, marking appointments / group classes as 'closed'  does not issue any service or monetary credits.  If your clients are enrolled in variable rate  subscriptions, marking appointments / group classes 'closed'  triggers invoice recalculation for open invoices. 

 

NOTE: if you are going to exceptionally issue service / monetary credits for appointments / group classes that fall on a holiday closure, you should add 'closed' hours / days to your location, but not mark those lessons as closed - instead, go to the main schedule to Batch Cancel those lessons after adding closed hours / days.

 

To mark appointments / group classes as closed, navigate to your left-hand menu in Opus1.io > select the 'gear' icon for settings > and click 'Locations / Room'.  From the 'Locations/Rooms' screen, press the blue 'Update' button next to the location with Holiday Closures. Scroll down to your 'Closed Hours / Days'. 

 

Screenshot 2023-12-21 at 12.33.52 PM

Here, you'll see a red 'warning' symbol and a description which lets you know how many active appointments / group classes have not yet been marked as 'Closed' during that closure timeframe.  If you hover your mouse over the warning, you'll see that you can click the warning to mark all active lessons as 'Closed'. 

 

When you mark a lesson as closed, the system assumes that no credit should be issued and will mark the appointment / group class 'Closed' in your calendar view. 

 

Screenshot 2023-12-21 at 12.39.41 PM

Additionally, when booking appointments / group classes, you'll notice the green toggle defaults 'on' for 'skip booking when location is not available'.  It's best practice to leave this setting on if you want the recurring appointment / group class to automatically skip from booking on dates you have previously scheduled to be closed.  Any appointments / group classes booked prior  to setting your 'location closure' will require you to manually 'close' by following the steps above.

 

Screenshot 2023-12-21 at 12.57.53 PM